Average teen sends 3,339 texts per month – CNN.com

The number of texts being sent is on the rise, especially among teenagers age 13 to 17. According to Nielsen, the average teenager now sends 3,339 texts per month.

There’s more, though: teen females send an incredible 4,050 text per month, while teen males send an average of 2,539 texts.

source: cnn.com

This is some outstanding data.

There has been an ongoing conversation between myself and several people I know who work with youth about the best way to communicate with teens. It is clear to me that different generations communicate differently. This graph is one I may print out and carry around with me. If you want to talk to teens, get out your phone and text them.

I guess I would be in the email generation, my preferred way to be communicated to is email. Don’t send me paper mail, don’t call me, send me an email.

The teens I work with, it is clear they don’t check email, don’t like voice calls, and I cant say if they run home and check the mail the way my family did when I was younger.

Unfortunately there are very few tools to communicate that support the various channels that each generation wants to be communicated with. If you have solved this at your church or other multi-generational organization, or if you even have a novel approach you are trying, please post it in the comments.

